25 cities in J&K selected, approved for Housing for All

As many as 25 cities in Jammu and Kashmir have been selected and approved for implementation of Housing for All, Legislative Council (LC) was informed today.

Deputy Chief minister Dr Nirmal Singh, who is also holding the charge of Housing and Urban Development, Department in reply to a question by Ali Mohammad Dar in the LC said 25 cities and towns in the state have been selected and approved for implementation of Housing for All (urban) Mission in the first phase. He said the cities and towns selected are Kathua, Basholi, Samba, Jammu, Rajouri, Poonch, Udhampur, Ramban, Kishtwar, Bhaderwah, Doda and R S Pura in Jammu province. In the Kashmir valley the cities and towns are Anantnag, Shopian, Bijbehara, Pulwama, Srinagar, Ganderbal, Badgam, Handwara, Kupwara, Baramulla and Sopore whie Leh and Kargil are in Ladakh region.

The reply stated that ministry of Urban Development has sanctioned and released an amount of Rs 190.64 lakh during the year 2015-16 under the Housing for All Mission. Out of which Rs 146.48 lakh for preparation of Action Plan and Rs 44.16 lakh for establishment of City Level Technical Cell (CLTC).

He said the amount was received by the department at the fag end of financial year as such could not be utilized. Dr Singh said the department has now taken up the matter with State Finance Department for the revalidation or advance drawl of these funds for its utilization during the current financial year.

The Action Plan for 10 towns has been prepared and Action Plan for other 15 towns is under progress.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor