2nd North Zone Declamation Contest organized at SMVDU

Newspoint Bureau
Katra, November 30
The 2nd Inter-State (North Zone) Declamation Contest for the Silver Rolling Trophy instituted by Governor Sh. N. N. Vohra was organized at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University on 30th November. Total 38 participants from the northern States like J&K, Haryana, Punjab, Himanchal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Delhi participated in the declamation on the theme “Does religion defy rationality?” The speakers boldly highlighted that in the age of reason all religions, beliefs, established convictions have to be examined and what does not appeal to human understanding cannot be accepted.
The declamation begun with a welcome note by Dr. V. K. Tripathi President Board of Cultural Activities and inaugural address by the Dean of Students Dr. Yugal Khajuria.
Jenab Naeem Akhtar, Hon’ble Minister for Education J&K State was the Chief Guest in the valedictory session in the evening. In his address he highlighted that there is no necessary contradiction between faith and reason but we need to understand their due roles in life. Rationality is that we don’t allow religion to become barrier or to create difference between people. If we have mutual doubts about each other in society, our all speeches and preaching will not be effective. We need to remove these doubts particularly in a country like us where there is space for believers of every sect and religion. Intolerance in the name of religion is irrational. Dr. Sanjeev Jain, the Vice Chancellor SMVDU called upon students to take a leading role in the new age of education when employment generation, entrepreneurship acumen and converting ideas into reality are much needed.
At the end, the evaluations made by the jury members namely Swami Nirantarananda from Ramakrishna Mission Jammu and Mr. David Devadas a well known writer, was disclosed and announced. Mr. Suraj Kumar from Govt. Degree College Dharmashala bagged the Silver Rolling Trophy and emerged the Best Speaker. The second positions went to Shivika Thakur from University of Jammu and Dunger Ram JNV University Jodhpur jointly and third position went to Prabhjot Kaur Central from University of Jammu. Ramneet from University of Jammu and Jhilmil Mengi from GCW Gandhinagar were awarded the consolation prizes. Shivika Thakur and Ramneet Kaur from University of Jammu bagged the Best Team award. Mr. Abhinav Dwivedi … thrilled the audience with their musical performances. Dr. Rakesh Kumar Vice President BCA presented a vote of thanks. Registrar Mr. Ajay Khajuria, Prof. V. Verma Dean Engineering, Prof. V. K. Bhat Dean Sciences, Dr. Vandhana Sharma Dean Humanities, Dr. Sumeet Gupta Dean Academic Affairs, faculty, students and staff were present on the occasion.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor