343 Industrial units non-functional in Jammu: J&K government

Jammu and Kashmir government has said that 343 out of the 1,982 Industrial units are non-functional in Jammu region.

“Out of total 1,982 industrial units, 1,118 are functional, 343 are non functional and remaining 521 are under implementation”, Director, Industries & Commerce, Jammu Dr Abdul Rashid said.

He said 20 Industrial estates have been established in Jammu division out of which 12 are being managed by District Industrial Centre (DIC), 5 by State Industrial Corporation (SICOP) and 3 by State Industrial Development Corporation (SIDCO).

The new Industrial Estates under development include Ghatti (Kathua), Silk Cluster Thanda Pani (Rajouri), Industrial Estate Majalta (Udhampur), IGC Samba Phase-III, Lambheri (Rajouri), Surankote (Poonch), Beoli (Doda), Nimbla (Reasi) Kundhali Mohalla Pochhal (Kishtwar), Dambra (Billawar), Tajoor Majalta (Udhampur) and Hiranagar in Kathua.

He further said that from April 2004 to March 2015, 12,068 units (Small Scale Industries) were registered with the investment of Rs 2114.19 crores and a total of 61,145 people were employed by the units.


The Director said that Rs 188.04 crore was disbursed to the industrialists under State Package of incentives and Rs 245.13 crore under Central Package of incentives scheme.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.