6 DIGs cleared for promotion

April 2:The Establishment Committee today cleared promotions of six DIGs in Police Department to the rank of Inspector Generals of Police (IGPs) and kept remarks of one officer in sealed envelope pending outcome of an inquiry pending against him.
Five officials of 1997 batch of IPS from Jammu and Kashmir cadre and one officer of 1998 batch were cleared for promotion by the Establishment Committee that met here today under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary BR Sharma and comprised Home Secretary RK Goel and Director General of Police (DGP) K Rajendra Kumar.
Five DIGs of 1997 batch of IPS, cleared for promotion as IGPs, included Gareeb Dass, DIG Headquarters, Viplav Kumar, DIG Traffic Jammu, Vijay Kumar, who is on Central deputation and was given proforma promotion, Surinder Gupta, DIG Udhampur-Reasi range and Johnny Williams, DIG Rajouri-Poonch range.
However, the remarks on promotion of Alok Kumar, DIG, were kept in the sealed envelope in view of an inquiry pending against him in Bihar, where he was on deputation there. He will be promoted to the rank of IGP after receipt of the inquiry report, sources said.
Ahfadul Mujtaba, Director SSG J&K, an IPS officer of 1998 batch has also been cleared for promotion as the IGP.
Formal orders of promotion and postings of the officers would be issued shortly by the Government.
It may be mentioned here that the issue of promotion of DIGs as IGPs was deferred by the Establishment Committee in February when Additional DGPs, IGPs and SSPs were promoted to the next rank.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor