65th All India Police Hockey Championship

J&K Police, Punjab enter quarterfinals

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, December 12
Hosts Jammu and Kashmir and Punjab Police today qualified for the knock-out stages of quarterfinals winning two games each in pool of three in the ongoing 65th All India Police Hockey Championship at different venues, here.
While J&K Police has made to the last eight stages from group-G, Punjab Police qualified from group-B making it absolute wins in their two outings. Earlier, in their league matches, J&K blanked Bihar Police 8-0 and Punjab Police had some tough time against last years’ runners-up side of Maharashtra Police before they emerged 3-1 winner. By this, Punjab Police has made a major upset by sending the silver medallist Maharashtra pack.
Meanwhile, in other groups, defending champion, ITBP was all set to qualify from Pool-A with two victories to their credit.
THE RESULTS: Punjab bt Maharashtra 3-1 (Satwinder Singh, 40th; Jagmeet Singh, 46th; Amit Sandhu, 50th. Kunal Jagdale, 59th); Haryana bt Gujarat 5-2 (Pardeep, 2nd, 14th, 19th; Mukesh, 16th, Balinder, 35th. Dalip G Damor, 21st, 63rd); CRPF bt Chhastigarh 16-0 (Jayant Tirkey, 5th, 17th, 25th, 59th; Bikas Kujur, 7th, 12th, 22nd, 29th, 69th; Rajinder Singh, 8th, 26th, 63rd; Prasant Tirkey, 19th; Saroj Ekka, 24th, 31st; Javed Khan, 70th); Uttrakhand bt Jharkhand 4-2 (Manoj Singh Rawat, 2nd, 61st; Parkash Chandra, 21st; Pankaj Kumar, 67th); Jammu and Kashmir bt Bihar 8-0 (Satwant Singh, 14th, 18th; Sikinder Pal Singh, 20th; Surinder Singh, 36th, 38th; Jaspreet Singh, 53rd; Manjeet Singh 54th; Sumit Pal Singh, 65th); Tamil Nadu bt CISF (Rajesh, 39th, Killivalavan, 59th. Neeraj Yadav, 9th); ITBP bt RPF 12-0 (Gurwinder Singh, 4th, MC Meetai, 12th, 62nd; Seraj Alam, 28th, 39th; Jaswinder Singh, 30th; Jaswinder Singh, 45th; Vinod Yadav, 54th; Ravi Xess, 58th; Harwinder Singh, 60th, 61st); Telengana bt Chandigarh 3-2 (G Saliesh, 32nd, 62nd; Sai, 60th. Amit Kumar, 42nd, Darminder Singh, 51st). ; Andhra Pradesh bt Karnataka (V Krishan Kishore, 3rd, 4th, S S Raju, 8th, 34th; P Nagendra Prasad, 25th, 66th. B Kasiviswanadham, 19th, Rajashekhar, 20th, 55th; S Chethan Kumar, 52nd; NB Pardeep, 60th).
FIXTURE: K K HAKHU STADIUM: CRPF V/s Haryana at 7.30 am; West Bengal V/s Karnataka at 9 am; Telengana V/s CISF at 10.30 am; ITBP V/s Jharkhand at 12 noon; BSF V/s Uttar Pradesh at 2 pm.
JU GROUND: Bihar V/s Puducherry at 7.30; Manipur V/s Odisha at 9 am; Uttrakhand V/s RPF at 10.30 am; Gujarat V/s Chhatisgarh at 12 noon.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor