After Kashmir traders, Jammu hoteliers decide to boycott pre-budget meet

After Kashmir-based business chambers and traders’ associations, The All Jammu Hotels & Lodges Association (AJHLA) has decided to boycott pre-budget meeting with Minister for Finance, Hasib H Drabu scheduled on January 3 to protest against the government for its failure to develop Jammu as independent tourist destination.
Addressing a meeting, Inderjeet Khajuria president AJHLA said, “It seems that the BJP-PDP coalition government is not serious in developing Jammu as independent tourist destination in view of the fact that it has adopted PPP mode in the execution of the proposed new tourism projects.”
“Experience reveals that the projects allotted to PPP could not even reach the starting stage, no agency came forward to bid and it was mere wastage of time and labour resulting in unwanted delay as it happened in the case of multi-storied shopping-cum-parking complex at General Bus Stand, Jammu, which was delayed by more than three years as no agency came forward to bid for it simply due to PPP mode,” he said.
He added all the ongoing Jammu tourism projects including Tawi Artificial Lake project, which was started during 2010 have not materialized due to various drawbacks including short flow of funds till date resulting in huge setback to the Jammu tourism industry.
Khajuria said that intentions of the government seem to be doubtful as on ground no tangible progress is visible, which could indicate the completion of the projects and until and unless sincere efforts are made to complete all the Jammu tourism projects within a prescribed time-frame Jammu tourism shall remain on ventilator effecting adversely the livelihood of more than five lakh souls who are depending on this trade.
He said Pre Budget meeting with the Finance Minister shall therefore be not more than a formality and wasting precious time of the Finance Minister.
Pawan Gupta  General Secretary, H S Manhas Vice President, Baldev Raj Treasurer, Sunil Suri Secretary, Bikram Singh Publicity Secretary, Kamal Kishore, Swaran Singh Manhas, Sunil Bakshi, Gurdarshansingh, Vinod Jandyal and others presented on the occasion.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.