Akhnoor zone bags girls U-14 kho-kho title

Akhnoor zone girls clinched kho-kho under-14 trophy after they defeated R S Pura zone 9-4 in the final of the inter-zonal district level girls (under-14 and under-17) competition held under the banner of Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS) at Government Higher Secondary School, Domana, here.

The kabaddi under-14 final won by Chowki Choura zone beating Bhalwal zone 34-20 while under-17 kabaddi title went to Gandhi Nagar zone after they trounced Akhnoor zone 33-31.

In the finals, former Minister and MLA, Sukhnandan Choudhary was chief guest, who gave away the prizes amidst encouragement for those losers and appreciation for the winning teams.

The competition was officiated by the technical penal comprising Ravi Kumar, Sham Singh, Romesh Chander, Narayan, Balwan Singh, Gulbir Singh, Ashok Kumar, Jasdev singh, Tilak Raj, Ram Paul, Bua Ditta, Prithpal Sharma, Mulkh Raj, Jagjeet Singh, Raman Gupta and Harjot Kour.

Meanwhile, competition in boys’ under-14 and under-17 age groups for three events of swimming, football and hockey got underway at different venues, here today.

HOCKEY: In hockey event, being held at K K Hakhu Stadium, SOS School and MMS Simbal Camp qualified for the final of under-14 category. Earlier, in the semifinals, played today, SOS School beat Army Public School (APS) Miran Sahib 3-0. Manjot scored two goals while Abirudh added one. In other semifinal, MMS Simbal Camp defeated New National HSS Miran Sahib 2-0 with both the goals coming through Kamalpreet. Harvinder Singh, Gurmeet Singh, Kamaljeet Singh, Mandeep and Jagjeet Singh officiated the matches.

FOOTBALL: In under-14 boys’ football event, started today at GGM Science College ground, here, preliminary round of the competition took place. The Results: JP World School beat KC Public 4-0; Alexandra Public School beat Doon International 1-0; KB Public beat Heritage 4-3; JK Public School beat GD Goenka 2-0.  Matches were officiated by the technical penal including Ajay Kumar, Rohit Gupta, Tarunpal, Harvinder Kour, Banti Jad and Robert Matoo.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor