Amit Shah elected BJP chief for second time; Advani, Joshi give ceremony a miss

Amit Shah was elected unopposed as the Bharatiya Janata Party chief for the second time and his tenure will end in 2019. Union Ministers, senior party leaders and workers attended the ceremony at the BJP headquarter in the national capital on Sunday.
However, BJP veterans were conspicuous by their absence. LK Advani, MM Joshi, Shatrughan Sinha gave ceremony a miss, thus raising many questions.Congratulating Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh said, “I have full faith that under his leadership, our party will achieve great success.”
Shah’s name for the post was proposed by Modi, a bevy of Union ministers and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states. Among others who have proposed Shah’s name are Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Anant Kumar and JP Nadda, M Venkaiah Naidu, besides BJP chief ministers Vasundhara Raje, Raghubar Das, Shivraj Singh Chauhan and others.
BJP Parliamentary Board is scheduled to meet on January 28 evening to welcome Shah into his new term. This will be first full term, which is for three years, for the close confidant of Modi.
Shah had taken over as the party chief during midway of Rajnath Singh’s term after Singh joined the government as the Home Minister in May 2014.
The biggest challenge for Shah in this term would be to get back to winning ways after a severe mauling in Delhi and Bihar. The biggest test of Shah at helm would be Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls in 2017. In politics, nothing succeeds like electoral success and the duo of Shah and Modi know it all too well and hope to revive the winning streak.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.