Anganwadi workers to lodge strong protest on Feb 25: Dar

Feb 23:Anganwadi workers and helpers of the ICDS projects under Social Welfare Department  have resolved to organise massive protest rally at MA Stadium, near Jewal Chowk  Jammu  on February 25.
Addressing media-persons here today,  Mohd Gafoor Dar  president National Trade Union Front along with Anganwadi Workers Welfare Association members -Rattna Devi, Hanifa Begum  and Mehazbeen said that Govt has totally neglected the ICDS Projects workers. A separate Mission Directorate was set up for over 60,000  ICDS  workers about two years back but even today no full fledged Director has been appointed. A director from Kashmir has been given the additional charge. The entire department was being run on adhocism.
Mr Dar further said that Anagnwadi Workers and  Supervisors are facing stagnation. They are not being promoted since long.   No new recruitment/ promotion rules are being framed by the officers at the helm of affairs. Moreover, they are demanding enhancement in their honorarium. He  demanded that Anganwadi Workers   be provided Rs 10,000 and Helpers Rs 6000 per month as honorarium.  If not this, they should at least be provided honorarium on the pattern of Harayana and Punjab.
The senior members of the Association demanded withdrawal of termination order of Anganwadi workers and Helpers issued by Director  ICDS on 22-4-15, framing of new recruitment rules of ICDS Mission providing 100 % by promotion quota for Supervisors, Workers and Helpers, release of pending monthly wages/ honorarium of the workers, provision of stationary, MPR sheets, training allowances, travelling allowance  to the workers, payment of incentives for extra work of censes/ election duty to the workers at par with other employees.
They appealed the Anganwadi workers, helpers and supervisors of all the ICDS projects in Jammu province to assemble at MA Stadium near Jewel Chowk in Jammu for protest rally at 11 AM. Workers from the entire province would participate in the grand rally.
Other trade union leaders Rajinder Kumar, Nazir Ahmed Molvi, Vikramjit Singh, Surinder Kour, Renu Kumari and others were also present.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor