Bypoll results: Gains for BJP, Cong wins in K’taka

New Delhi, April 13
Aside from a resounding victory in Delhi, the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) also made impressive gains in Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Assam and Rajasthan as the results of Sunday’s by-election came in today.
The saffron party won five of the ten assembly seats up for grabs, while the Congress came in a close second with three seats in its kitty. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerged the biggest loser, as the BJP handed it a humiliating defeat in the Rajouri Garden assembly seat.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailed the BJP’s “impressive performance” in the assembly bypolls and thanked the people for their “unwavering faith in politics of development and good governance”.
In the national capital, the BJP trounced AAP in the Rajouri Garden bypoll . Akali Dal candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa, who fought the bypoll on a BJP ticket, won by a margin of more than 14,000 votes, while AAP candidate Harjeet Singh finished a distant third behind the Congress.
Meanwhile in Karnataka, the ruling Congress put up a decent showing as it bucked anti-incumbency to retain its hold on two assembly seats.
Congress’ Kalale N Keshavamurthy defeated his nearest rival V Srinivas Prasad (BJP) by over 21,000 votes in Nanjangud.
In Gundlupet, Geetha Mahadevaprasad (Congress) trounced BJP’s C S Niranjan Kumar by over 10,000 votes, an election official said.
In Madhya Pradesh, BJP retained the Bandhavgarh Assembly seat after defeating rival Congress by a margin of over 25,000 votes. BJP nominee Shivnarayan Singh defeated Congress’ candidate Savitri Singh from the seat in Umaria district by 25,476 votes, an election official said.
After a close-fought battle in Ater, Congress’ Hemant Katare emerged victorious by polling 49,382 votes to BJP candidate Arvind Singh Bhadoria’s 41,829 votes.
In Himachal Pradesh, BJP candidate Dr Anil Dhiman won the Bhoranj (SC) Assembly seat by defeating Congress rival Promila Devi by 8,290 votes. With this victory, the BJP’s bench strength has risen to 28 in the 68-member House.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor