Chief Secretary chairs 4th meeting of SHPSC on AMRUT

Approves SAAP 2017-20

Newspoint Bureau

Jammu Tawi, December 13

Chief Secretary, B R Sharma  Tuesday  chaired the 4th meeting of the State Level High Powered Steering Committee (SHPSC) on Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) here.

AMRUT was launched on June-25, 2015 by the Prime Minister along with Smart Cities and Housing for all (Urban) Missions at New Delhi.

Under AMRUT, Central Government releases financial assistance to the States to create basic urban infrastructure that shall lead to provision of better services to public. The Ministry of Urban Development, GoI has allocated a total of Rs 593.05 Cr for the AMRUT project for J&K. The State share for the project is 10%. The duration of the project is 5 years from FY 2015-16 to FY 2019-20.

Presently, five (5) Cities/Towns in J&K are covered under AMRUT. These include Srinagar, Jammu, Anantnag, Leh & Kargil. The MoUD, GoI has already approved State Annual Action Plan (SAAP)-2016-17 for an amount of Rs 197.33 Cr for these Cities/Towns. Approval for SAAP-2016-17 for Kargil Town to the tune of Rs 12.80 Cr submitted to the MoUD, GoI  is awaited. SAAP for 2015-16 was approved for an amount of Rs 171 Cr.

The Committee approved the DPRs of the various projects identified under the SAAP 2016-17. These DPRs have been vetted by Project Development Management Consultant (PDMC) & State Level Technical Committee (SLTC). The projects mostly pertain to improving water supply, drainage, sewerage & septage management, green spaces & parks, urban transport and rejuvenation of water bodies.

The Steering Committee also considered SAAP of 2017-20 for these 5 AMRUT Cities/Towns for the remaining amount of Rs 224.72 Cr and recommended it for submission to the Apex Committee in MoUD, GoI for approval.

Later the Chief Secretary was presented a brief on the Smart City proposals for Srinagar and Jammu cities through a presentation.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor