DGP Vaid declares open State Volleyball Champ

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu, December 17
Jammu boys dominated the opening day winning both their league matches in the three-day 28th J&K State Volleyball (boys and girls) Championship, organised by Volleyball Association of J&K in collaboration with J&K State Sports Council, at MA Stadium, here today.
In their first outing, Jammu boys outplayed Udhampur in straight 2-0 (25-17, 25-07) sets and later trounced Budgam in similar fashions 2-0 (25-11, 25-08) sets.
In all, 16 teams in boys and 10 in girls section, including 400 spikers, are taking part in this championship representing Poonch, Rajouri, Samba, Kathua, Udhampur, Jammu, Ramban, Srinagar, Ganderbal, Kulgam, Anantnag, Pulwama, Budgam, Baramulla, Shopian and Bandipora.
The competition is being held on league-cum-knockout basis, following the Volleyball Federation of India rules.
Earlier, the championship was inaugurated by the chief guest, Director General of Police, Law and Order, Dr SP Vaid in the presence of guest of honour, Inspector General of Police (IGP) Jammu Zone, Danesh Rana, special guest, Registrar University of Jammu, Prof Keshav Sharma, patron-in-chief of Volleyball Association of J&K, Raj Daluja, president, Sidharth Daluja and a host of other guests.
Speaking on the occasion, the Dr Vaid underlined the importance of sports in Nation building specially in moulding the youth of the State.
He also expressed his pleasure to see the participating teams from Kashmir Valley and hailed the initiatives of the organizers. The chief guest said that youth of the State have enormous potential which needs to be explored and nurtured in the right direction and the efforts are underway to provide environment to channelise energy of youth towards nation building. General secretary of the Association, Vijay Kumar Magotra welcomed the chief guest and distinguished gathering amidst presentation of a brief note of the event.
Also present were Rangil Singh, Dr Ashutosh, Shiv Kumar Sharma, HS Gill, Raj Guru, Kuldip Magotra, RC Sharma, Mohd Tariq Khan and ML Toofan.
Today’s matches were officiated by the technical penal including Amarjeet Singh, Mulkh Raj Sharma, Neeraj Sharma (VFI qualified referees), Wasim Raja, Amit Sharma, Ilyas Khan, Shafqat, Azhar Aziz, Naresh Sharma, Imtiaz, Sher Singh, Rajinder Pal Singh and Akbar Ali.
The detailed Results:
BOYS: Kathua beat Shopian 2-0 (25-19, 25-18); Jammu beat Udhampur 2-0 (25-17, 25-07); Samba beat Ramban 2-0 (25-18, 25-18), Baramula beat Poonch 2-0 (25-22, 25-23; Rajouri beat Bandipora 2-0 (27-25, 25-19); Gandarbal beat Budgam 2-0 (25-11, 25-18); Pulwama beat Anantnag 2-0 (25-19, 25-20); Jammu beat Budgam 2-0 (25-11, 25-08); Ganderbal beat Udhampur 2-1 (23-25, 25-14, 15-13); Pulwama beat Anantnag 2-0 (25-19, 25-20); Kathua beat Rajouri 2-0 (25-08, 25-20); Samba beat Srinagar 2-0 (25-23, 26-24); Baramula beat Anantnag 2-0 (25-11, 25-13); Shopian beat Bandipora 2-1 (25-15, 23-25, 15-10); Kulgam beat Ramban 2-1 (21-25, 25-23, 15-13). ; and Pulwana beat Poonch 2-1 (26-24, 19-25, 15-09).
GIRLS: Srinagar beat Poonch 2-0 (25-15, 25-11); Samba beat Udhampur 2-0 (25-18, 25-22); Jammu beat Budgam 2-0 (25-07, 25-12); Kathua beat Pulwma 2-0 (25-05, 25-10); Srinagar beat Ganderbal 2-0 (25-13, 25-16); Baramula beat Kathua 2-0 (25-13, 25-19); and Baramula beat Pulwama 2-0 (25-05, 25-19).

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor