Differences crop up between PDP, BJP over new DGP, Governor’s Address

Vinod Kumar

Jammu Tawi, December 23

Even as theCabinet Sub Committee (CSC) on re-structuring of Jammu and Kashmir Police cadre (Kashmir Police Services) is trying to sort out the contentious issue, derious differences have been reportedly cropped up in between two coalition partners-Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and BJP on the name of new Director General of Police (DGP) and on some issues to be incorporated in the Governor’s Address for the coming budget session of the Assembly.

Sources said that finalizing name of new DGP for J&K is becoming bone of contention for both the coalition partners because PDP is strongly opposing the name BJP projecting as new DGP. Similarly BJP is also not agreed with the names so far being suggested by the PDP. It is all due such differences between two coalition partners that name of the new police chief for sensitive state of J&K is yet to be finalized despite the fact that three months extension period of incumbent DGP K Rajindera is going to be completed within seven days.

Sources said that on the directions of central leadership BJP has taken tough stand on new DGP. The party is not going to compromise on this issue. Similarly PDP, on the other hand, is also trying to appoint own person as new DGP.

Sources said that not only differences have been cropped up in the name of new DGP, both the parties are also not on the same page to include some some issues in the Governor address. BJP, sources said, is opposing some issues PDP wants to be included in the Governor’s Address.

Pertinent to mention here that already there is differences between two parties on the restructuring of J&K Police Cadre. A CSC comprising six senior Cabinet Ministers-three each from PDP and BJP, the two ruling coalition partners has been constituted to solve this issue

The CSC members headed by Industries and Commerce Minister Chander Prakash Ganga comprised Forests Minister Lal Singh and Health and Medical Education Minister Bali Bhagat (all from BJP), Finance Minister Dr Haseeb Drabu, Education Minister Naeem Akhter and FCS & CA Minister Zulfkar Choudhary (all from PDP).

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor