Engineers are backbone of nation’s development: Sham Lal

Minister for PHE, Irrigation & Flood Control Sham Lal Choudhary, today said that “Engineers are backbone of nation’s development and their contribution is essential for success of campaigns like Make in India, Smart City and Digital India”.
The Minister was speaking at a function being organised to celebrate 49th Engineers’ Day at Institute of Engineers (India), Jammu local centre.
Engineers’ day is being celebrated every year on this day to commemorate the birth anniversary of Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya, Bharat Ratna awardee.
The Minister further said that India has produced many excellent engineers who are making country proud in all parts of the globe.
Supporting his statement, the Minister cited the examples of CEO, Microsoft Satya Nadela and CEO Google Sundar Pichai, adding that, there is a need for youth to take inspiration from them and make their careers in the field of engineering.
Sham Lal said the government is taking various steps to eradicate unemployment by giving boost to skill development and opportunities to start their own business avenues under ‘Start Up India’ and various other government schemes.
Chairman, Institute of Engineers (India), Jammu local centre Ajay Gupta, Assistant Executive Engineer, PWD (R&B) department Pooja Wazir and Honorary Secretary BL Rawal were also present on the occasion.
Meanwhile, the Minister presented DK GUPTA ENGINEER OF THE YEAR award for the year 2016 to General Manager, O&M (Retired), Power Grid Corporation of India, Jammu KR Suri and Gold medal to former Chief Engineer, Hydraulic Department Inderjit Singh.
The Minister also presented RL Sharma Memorial Gold Medal to Vijay Kumar Sharma for presenting the best technical papers and Rudra Bhagwati Silver medal to Sewa Ram for presenting second best technical papers during the year 2015-2016.
Sham Lal also presented mementos to engineers including SC Thukral, PK Nanda, KR Suri, BL Rawal, Sewa Ram, Vijay Kumar Sharma, Ranjeev Sawhney, Supinder Jeet Singh, Rajesh Kumar Angural and Akash Dusgotra for presenting two or more technical papers during the year 2015- 2016.
The Minister also released first issue of 14th volume of quarterly newsletter of Jammu Local Centre.
The inaugural session was followed by a technical session which was chaired jointly by Vice Chancellor, Central University of Jammu Prof. Ashok Aima, and Secretary Technical cum Development Commissioner, PWD, Bimal Kumar Tickoo in which nine papers were presented in the shape of Power Point Presentations by SC Thukral, PK Nanda, KR Suri and Vijay Kumar Sharma.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor