Ex-Gratia soon to NoKs of deceased in Nov 2015 Marwah road accident: Abdul Haq

Minister for Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, law and Justice Abdul Haq on behalf of Home Minister while replying to a calling attention notice given by Sajad Ahmad Kichloo informed the Legislative Council today that on 24th of November 2015, at around 6:00 pm, a Tata Sumo bearing Registration No JK02X-6032, carrying six persons, on its way from Anantnag to Marwah, met with an accident at Passer Bridge, near Nowpachi Tehsil Marwah. He said that three persons namely Mohammad Abas, Shehnaz Begum and Zarifa Begum residents of Nowpachi, Marwah died on spot adding that two persons namely Mohammad Ramzan R/O Nowpachi Marwah and Khursheed Alam, Resident of Chanjar Marwah sustained injuries.
The Minister said that an FIR was registered in this regard at Police Station Marwah, and an amount of Rs 10,000 each has been paid to the NoKs of the deceased and Rs 5000 each to the injured persons, out of District Red Cross Society Fund by District administration Kishtwar.
The Minister said the report of the accident has been forwarded by ARTO, Kishtwar to RTO Jammu with a copy to Deputy Commissioner, Kishtwar and Transport Commissioner. He said RTO Jammu has prepared details of the case and shall place it before the committee headed by Divisional Commissioner Jammu for approval to the payment of ex-gratia to the NoKs of the deceased out of Passenger Welfare Fund.
Abdul Haq further informed the house that on 13th September 2015 at around 6:30 pm , a Tata Sumo bearing registration number JK17-3828 met with an accident at Padder Sansari road about 3 kilometers from Gulabgarh. He said that seven persons namely Nitish Kumar, Yog Raj, Manak Chand, Mahinder, Ashwani Kumar, Rajender Singh and Sonam Topat died on-spot.
Abdul Haq said a case was registered in this regard at police station Atholi and an amount of Rs 5000 each was paid to the NoKs of the deceased, out of District Red Cross Society Fund by District Administration Kishtwar. He said the vehicle being private (Non-Commercial Passenger vehicle) is not covered under Passenger Welfare Fund Scheme.
The Minister said that as per the Jammu and Kashmir Passenger Welfare Rules, 2008 relief is admissible to the NoKs of those killed or seriously injured in road accidents of Commercial Passenger vehicles. He said the relief is sanctioned by the Transport Commissioner, J&K, on the recommendations of the committee headed by Divisional commissioner with IGP, Traffic as member and concerned Regional Transport Officer as Member-Secretary.
The Minister further informed the House that as per the Welfare Fund rules Rs. 25 thousand are paid in case of death, rupees ten thousand in case of serious injuries and rupees five thousand in case of minor injuries to the victims of the road accidents involving Passenger Transport Vehicles.
He said as per the details provided by the Transport Department, 151 meetings have been held by the Divisional Commissioner, Jammu and 28 by Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir and cheques amounting Rs 2, 90, 60,000(rupees 2 Crore, 90 lakhs and sixty thousand) have been issued in favour of the concerned Deputy Commissioners from November, 2010 to June 2014.
Abdul Haq said besides one person namely Mohammad Amin Chopan S/o Abdul Fateh R/o Dehrena Marwah, died on 28.03.2015 due to shooting stone. He said the case for payment of ex-gratia in favour of the NoKs of the deceased as per norms is under process in the office of the Deputy Commissioner Kishtawar. The Minister said that during the year 2014, 71 road accidents occurred in district Kishtawar in which 37 persons lost their lives. He said as against these, during the year 2016, 72 road accidents occurred resulting in 23 deaths.
Khan further informed the House that one Inspector and 33 officials/SPOs working under the close supervision of Dy SP Traffic, Doda/Kishtawar are presently deployed in Kishtawar. He said the traffic police realized Rs. 31,93,400 from 22,833 violators in Doda/Kishtawar districts during the year 2015.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor