GDC Udhampur bags overall trophy in Fencing

Government Degree College (GDC) Udhampur clinched the overall championship trophy in men’s Fencing event securing highest 41 points in the inter-college competitions, organized by Department of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu at Gymnasium Hall on the campus, here today.
Chahat Singh of GDC Udhampur played a key role in taking away the coveted trophy contributing maximum points.
Earlier, the second day of the competition witnessed individual events held under the supervision of technical penal comprising Shotu Lal Sharma, Rachna Jamwal, Rashid Ahmed Choudhary, Ujjwal Gupta, Ajay Khatrol and
PD Singh.
Meanwhile, the fencing competition in women’s category shall start tomorrow at the same venue.
The Detailed Results: EPEE: Chahat Singh, GDC Udhampur, Ist; Mohd Muzamul, GDC Paloura, 2nd; Shubham Sharma (Commerce College) and Abhinav Pandotra (PG Departments), joint 3rd. FOIL: Chahat Singh, GDC Udhampur, Ist; Shubham Sharma, Commerce College, 2nd; Abhinav Pandotra (PG Departments) and Karan Singh (GDC Udhampur), joint 3rd.SABRE: Parvinder Singh, GDC Paloura, Ist; Adhirath Kesar (MIET), 2nd; Aatish (GDC Udhampur) and Umang Sharma (GGM Science College), joint 3rd.
FOOTBALL: Commerce, Science College, ASCOMS win ties
JAMMU: Government SPMR College of Commerce, GGM Science College, ASCOMS and Government Degree College (GDC) Hiranagar won their respective matches to move into the next round of the inter-college men’s football tournament being played at JU campus grounds, here today.
In the first match, Commerce College blanked Government College of Engineering and Technology (GCET) 8-0. Pankaj (9th, 28th, 55th), Bhanu (13th, 15th, 28th), Lovish (21st) and Raza (45th) were the scorers. The GGM Science College trounced GDC Paloura 2-1 via tie-breaker. In another match of the day, ASCOMS defeated GDC Samba 2-1. Shahid Shabir (15th) and Wamiq (25th) were the scorers from winning side of ASCOMS while Abhishek Choudhary (55th) reduced the margin. In fourth match of the day, GDC Hiranagar beat Government MAM College 2-0. Rahul Sharma (10th) and Aqeel Malik (27th) were the scorers.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor