Geelani, Mirwaiz remain under house arrest

Newspoint Bureau
Srinagar, April 16
Chairmen of both the faction of Hurriyat Conference (HC) Syed Ali Shah Geelani and Mirwaiz Moulvi Omar Farooq remained under house arrest in Kashmir, where a complete shutdown is being observed today against the killing of a youth in security force firing.
However, there was no restriction on Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) chairman Yasin Malik, who was released yesterday from detention after one month.
However, majority of other separatist leaders, who were kept under house arrest or detained to stop them from holding anti-election campaign, have been released.
“Mr Geelani remained under house arrest since May last year and he was not even allowed to offer Friday prayers in a mosque since then,” a spokesman of the amalgam Aiyaz Akbar told UNI.
However, he said other leaders of the amalgam, including Mohammad Ashraf Sehrayee, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Peer Saifullah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Raja Mehrajuddin, Mohammad Ashraf Laya and himself, have been released.
A large number of security forces and state police personnel remained deployed outside the Hyderpora residence of Mr Geelani who was arrested a number of time for defying restrictions. However, he was being released every time.
Meanwhile, chairman of moderate HC Mirwaiz also remained under house arrest, a spokesman of the amalgam told UNI.
Security forces and state police personnel remained deployed outside the Nigeen house of Mirwaiz, who remained under house arrest for the past around a month.
Restriction was imposed on separatists after they issued call for poll boycott in both Srinagar and Anantnag parliamentary constituencies.
Polling was held in Srinagar on April 9 during which eight persons were killed and over 20 others injured in security force and police action. About 150 paramilitary forces were also injured in stone pelting. In view of the violence, Election Commission of India (ECI) deferred polling in Anantnag constituency, which was scheduled to be held on April 12.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor