Govt nominates non-official members of District Consumer Protection Councils

Newspoint Bureau

Jammu Tawi, November 25

The State Government has constituted District Consumer Protection Councils (DCPC) to safeguard the interests of the consumers in the state. On the direction of Minister for Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs Chowdhary Zulfkar Ali, the Department of Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs vide Government Order No 182 –FCS&CA of 2016, in terms of SRO-262 has constituted the District Consumer Protection Councils (DCPC). Each DCPC comprises Deputy Commissioner of the concerned district as Chairman, Chief Medical Officer of the district as Member, Assistant Director Department of Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs as Member Secretary, Chief Executive Officer of the Municipal Council as Member, Senior Superintendent of Police (with territorial jurisdiction) as Member, Assistant Controller, Legal Metrology Department of the district as Member besides Government nominated non-official members. The Government has nominated non-official members for DCPCs to make these fully functional.

For district Rajouri, Government has nominated Advocate Mir Baz of Palangar, Advocate Manzoor Hussain of  Sankari and Bharat Bhushan of Rajouri as Members while for district Poonch Shamim Ahmed Dar of Poonch, Shamim Ahmed Ganaie of Mandi and Javaid Iqbal Choudhary of Surankote have been nominated as members of DCPC.

For District Jammu, Government has nominated Davinder Batra of Gandhi Nagar, Chander Gulati of Canal Road  and Hussain Ali Wafa of Nagrota as Members while for district Samba Saleem Choudhary of Samba, Vijay Kumar Baba of Vijaypur and Dr Chander Salathia have been nominated as DCPC Members.

For District Doda, Shohab-ul-Haq of Doda, Abdul Majeed of Thathri and Mushtaq Ahmed Zargar of Neeli Bhallesa have been nominated as Members for the district while Advocate Sheikh Nasir Hussain of Kishtwar, Shabir Ahmed retired TSWO Kishtwar and Mohammad Ashraf Kichloo, Retired Army Officer of Kishtwar are government members of the District body.

The government has nominated Surinder Singh Fouji of Kathua, Sardar Khan, retired SP Kathua and Choudhary Gulzar Ahmed of Mai Chak Kathua as members for district Kathua while Krishan Dev Singh of Reasi, Shafiq-ur-Rehman of Mahore and Partap Sharma of Katra have been nominated DCPC members for district Reasi.

For Udhampur, Hans Raj of Udhampur, Advocate Aijaz Ahmed Sumbriya of Udhampur and Siraj Din Choudhary of Udhampur are government nominated Members while Bashir Ahmed Rounyal of Banihal, Rehmatullah Rounyal of Gandri, Ramban and Haji Mohammad Yousuf of Maitra Ramban have been nominated members for DCPC Ramban.

In addition MLAs / MLCs will be the special invitees in the meetings of the District Consumer Protection Councils.

The government has directed Chairmen of the respective Councils to convene regular meetings as provided under J&K Consumer Protection Act and also furnish their comments and recommendations to the Department.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor