Gujarat bypolls: Big setback for Congress as BJP races ahead

Ahmedabad: The results to 134 seats of various municipalities, district panchayats and taluka panchayats are being announced by the Gujarat State Election Commission (SEC) on Tuesday. Polling on total 134 seats of various municipalities, district panchayats and taluka panchayats were conducted by the state Election Commission on Sunday. Among them, polling was conducted for mid-term election of Gondal taluka panchayat, general election of two municipalities and by-election of four district panchayats and 15 taluka panchayats.
Gujarat district panchayat, taluka panchayat and Nagarpalika bypolls: BJP wins 23 seats and Congress wins 8 seats.
Surat – Kanakpur-Kansad nagarpalika polls: BJP wins 27 seats out of total 28 seats, Congress wins 1 seat.
Vapi nagarpalika polls: BJP wins 41 seats out of 44, Congress wins 3.
Union Textiles Minister Smriti Irani hails BJP candidates’ performance in Gujarat civic polls as she tweeted, “Abhinandan @BJP4Gujarat for the splendid victory in local body by-polls & gratitude to the people of Gujarat for their continued support.”
Union Minister for Human Resource Development Prakash Javedkar too hailed BJP’s victory in state civiv bypolls and said, “Results of local body polls in Gujarat and Maharashtra show that people of the country support government’s fight against black money.” Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed his pleasure on BJP’s poll victory in Gujarat civic elections and tweeted, “I salute people of Gujarat for continued trust in BJP. BJP’s great win in local polls shows people’s strong faith in development politics.”
-“Congratulations to @BJP4Gujarat Karyakartas, CM @vijayrupanibjp & @jitu_vaghani for their hardwork work across the state,” PM Modi tweeted.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor