India v/s South Africa 4th Test: Kohli wins toss, chooses to bat

Winning the toss, India opted to bat first in the fourth and final Test match of the Gandhi-Mandela Series at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in Delhi.

Having taken an unassailable 2-0 lead, the hosts will try to leave no stones unturned to clinch victory at the historic cricketground, thus moving to the second position in the ICC Test rankings.

Indian Test captain Virat Kohli had already insisted that they would not be complacent and will be ‘ruthless’ against the formidable but out of confidence South African team. The hosts won the first Test at Mohali by 108 runs but the second Test at Bengaluru was drawn as rains washed out 4 days of the match. India won the third Test by 124 runs to seal the rubber.

On the other hand, South Africa, the number one Test team, will look to salvage some pride by winning the last match of their tour.

Indian team has brought in pacer Umesh Yadav in place of leggie Amit Mishra.

The visitors on the other hand are still sweating on the fitness of frontline pacer Dale Steyn, who will not be playing the final Test as well due to injury.

South Africa

Temba Bavuma, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla(c), AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Jean-Paul Duminy, Dane Vilas(w), Dane Piedt, Kyle Abbott, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel.

India Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Meanwhile, Virender Sehwag, who had announced his retirement last month, was felicitated by the BCCI officials before the start of the match.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.