Inter-college competitions of JU

Government MAM College bagged men’s chess title in the ongoing Inter-college Chess Tournament, organised by the Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS), at JU campus, here today.
In the final, MAM College trounced MIET College 3.5-0.5 in a one-sided contest. The Results: Akhil Manhas beat Vikas Kotwal; Surinder Singh beat Agrim Pandotra; Rajat Sharma beat Rajat Sharma;
Sahil Mahajan drew against Abhishek.
Earlier, in the semifinals, MIET beat Government Degree College Paloura 4-0: Vikas Kotwal beat Ashokvir Singh; Agrim Pandotra beat Abhinandan; Abhishek beat Deepak; Rsajat Sharma beat Rishab. In other semifinal, MAM beat PG Departments, 3-2 in best v/s best game: Rajat Sharma beat Ishaan Sharma; Akhil beat Sahil Sharma; Sahil Mahajan lost to Kulveer Singh Parihar; Surinder Singh lost to Hiteshwar Kesar; Rajat Sharma beat Ishaan in best v/s best game.
The title trophy in chess was awarded to winning MAM College by Director Sports and Physical Education, JU, Prof. Avtar Singh Jasrotia. Others present were Balbir Singh Chib (Physical Director), Raj Kumar Bakshi, Jai Bharat and PD Singh (Incharge chess event).
CHESS WOMEN: In women’s chess event, Post Graduate (PG) Departments shall take on Government College for Women (GCW) Parade in the title clash.
The Results: Semifinals: PG Departments beat GCW Gandhi Nagar 2.5-0.5: Mehak Bakshi beat Shubhalee Jamwal; Navneet Kour beat Sonali Gupta; Madeha Tabassum beat Manjusha Bharti; Monika Thakur drew against Nayandeep Kour.
GCW Parade beat GDC Kathua 4-0: Sushmita Jamwal beat Swati Saini; Sonali Manhas beat Ankita Gupta; Akriti Kotwal beat Ashima Khajuria; Hansha Sharma beat Pallvi Andotra.
WOMEN: The combined side of Post Graduate (PG) Departments won the inter-college women’s Kho-Kho final. In the title clash, PG women defeated GCW Parade by a close margin of one (04-03) point.
MEN: In men’s kho-kho final awarded in favour of PG Departments after Government SPMR College of Commerce lost in the extra time. Earlier, in the stipulated time, the match ended in a 11-11 draw.
The kho-kho competition officiated by the technical penal comprising Anil Sharma, Anil Kumar, Ankush Sharma, Abhishek Sharma, Ajeet Singh, Mohd. Israr and incharge Kho-Kho event, Gagan Kumar.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor