Inter-zone DYSS competitions of district Jammu

Bhalwal zone clinched both under-14 and under-17 kho-kho titles in the two-day inter-zonal (boys) district level competitions of Jammu held under the banner of Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS) at Government Higher Secondary School, Domana, here today.

In under-14 final, Bhalwal zone beat their opponent by a comfortable margin 22-15. To make it a double title, Bhalwal boys outplayed Akhnoor zone 5-4 in a low scoring game of under-17 category. Earlier, in the under-17 semifinals, Bhalwal beat Bishnah 8-0 and Akhnoor registered a 3-1 win against Satwari zone.

In the finals, Principal of the host Government HSS Domana was special guest, who complimented those winning teams and appreciated the spirit of all other teams who contested for the top honours despite scorching heat.

VOLLEYBALL: Meanwhile, the boys’ under-14 volleyball title claimed by Marh zone, who beat Miran Sahib in straight sets. The under-17 title went to Miran Sahib zone after they beat Jourian 3-2 in a tough contest. Semifinals: Jourian beat Khour 2-0 and Miran Sahib beat Marh zone 3-2. Volleyball matches officiated by the technical penal including Mulkh Raj, Raman, Jagjeet, Tilak Raj, Prithpal Singh, Jigore Kishore and Ajeet Singh

KABADDI: The under-14 kabaddi title claimed by Akhnoor zone beating Dansal 31-30 in a close contest. Later, in under-17 final, Jammu zone emerged winner after they trounced their counterparts from Satwari 43-23. Semifinals: Satwari beat Jourian 30-28 and Jammu beat Akhnoor 38-21. Kho-Kho and Kabaddi matches were officiated by the technical penal including Ravi, Kumar, Rajesh Sambyal, Anil Sharma, Suraj Dev Singh, Ravinder, Sham Singh and Balwan Singh.

WRESTLING: UNDER-14: Below 32 kg: Harish of MHAC Nagbani, 1st; Rishav Kumar of GGHS Sohanjana, 2nd. Below 35 Kg: Amit Kumar of GGHS Sohanjana, 1st; Imitiaz M/S Sitni Bye-Pass, 2nd. Below 38Kg: Mohd. Asif M/s Sitni Bye-Pass, 1st; Liquat Ali Miran Sahib Zone, 2nd. Below 41Kg: Guljeet Singh HS Kothi Tanda Akhnoor, Ist; Viahal Kuma Marh Zone, 2nd. Below 45Kg: Amresh Kumar of GHS Kangrail, 1st; Abhay Chobber Marh Zone, 2nd.Below 50 Kg: Rohit Bansa of Marh Zone, 1st; Raghav Singh of St. John Convent, 2nd. Below 55 Kg: Raj Kumar of Marh Zone, 1st; Daler Khan of GHS Agore, 2nd.

CRICKET: UNDER-14: Marh zone beat Jourian; Jammu zone beat Bhalwal; Gandhi Nagar zone beat Satwari. Matches were officiated by the technical penal comprising Anju Sharma (ZPEO), Pankaj Sasan, Mukesh Sharma, Satpal, Rupalli, Satika, Farooq and Sadiq Hussain.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor