JKNPP holds massive demonstration at Jammu

Expressing immense shock over the loss of property and life caused by the persistent heavy mortar shelling by Pakistan on the forward villages of IB and LoC, a strong contingent of Panther activists joined by the kith and kin of the deceased and scores of severely injured people staged a massive demonstration spearheaded by Harsh Dev Singh Chairman JKNPP and Balwant Singh Mankotia State President JKNPP at Exhibition Ground Jammu on Wednesday. The angry protestors slammed the Central as well as the State govt. for their despicable apathy and gross failure to provide succour to the border residents of Jammu region and sought immediate relief and compensation for them as promised by both the governments.
Citing a tragic tale of intervening night of 6th October 2014 when Pakistan ruthlessly pounded Arnia and
RS Pura sectors in Jammu region with heavy mortar shelling, Harsh Dev Singh expressed his resentment against the Central and successive State government’s apathy for not providing any ex-gratia relief to the families and employment to next of kin of the six persons killed during the terrifying shelling as promised by the BJP MP from Jammu-Poonch Jugal Kishore Sharma, other Saffron leaders and the then Chief Minister of Jammu & Kashmir soon after the cremation of the slain people in presence of the large gathering of aggrieved villagers at village Mahashan de Kothey in Arnia.
He demanded an immediate allotment of 5 Marla of land for each family at safer zones, ex-gratia of Rs 20 lakhs each of the family of the person killed in Pak firing, Rs 5 lakhs each to the family of the injured and employment for the next of kin of the deceased under the provisions of SRO 43 for the relief and rehabilitation of the affected people living in the forward hamlets. He wondered that how could BJP Ministers enjoy the chill of Kashmir and keep their ally in good by acquiescing to the statement of Mehbooba Mufti that only Bunkers would be provided for Border Area people instead of 5 marla plots He cautioned the BJP to rake up the voice of the border residents and provide the promised relief to them without any delay otherwise the Panthers would launch a full scale agitation against their cowardice and surrenders.
Harsh Dev Singh further said that Pakistan earlier had been pounding the forward villages all along the IB and LoC with heavy shelling which had caused immense miseries to the people inhabiting such areas. He said that the border residents were living in horrifying circumstances and the BJP partnered State government had paid no heed to their plight and miseries as of now. He pointed out that the children, women and aged were the worst sufferers of the Pak misadventures who were looking at the administration for an immediate relief and rehabilitation to safer zones.
He further maintained that the frequent attacks on civilians were the worst border skirmishes and the border villages had turned into war zones with sounds of falling mortar shells and automatic weapons. While lambasting Pakistan for sponsoring terror and creating war like situation in the State, he exhorted the GoI to take a stringent and deterrent action against the belligerent enemy.
Balwant Singh Mankotia raising voice in conformity with the genuine demands of the people living along the IB asserted that the border dwellers should be entitled for all the benefits and privileges at par with the residents of LoC and the local youth should absorbed under Special Recruitment drive for Police, BSF and Armed personnel. He vowed that Panthers party shall stand with the border residents in all odds and circumstances and assured the people that it shall not relent unless all the demands of the people and the affected families in particular were addressed by both the Central and the State governments.
He added that JKNPP shall exert political pressure on both the governments by agitating from the streets to the Supreme Court for the rights and justice of the border residents.
Others who spoke in the occasion included Rajesh Padgotra, Gagan Partap, Sham Gorkha, Nirmal Kishore, Sanjeev Verma Aditya Hans, Manoj Gupta, Khajoor Singh, Kailash Mohan, Ajeet Sharma, Arun Sharma, Narinder Singh, Raj Kumar, Pavan Kumar, Rattan Lal, Surinder Kumar, Tarseem Lal and besides others.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor