LAHDC Kargil & Leh Joint meeting declare Ladakh Tribal Area

Newspoint Bureau
Kargil, November 29
Being 98% of the Population belonging to Schedule Tribe Category in Ladakh Region (Both Kargil & LEH Districts) LAHDC will jointly demand declaration of Ladakh Region as Tribal Area under 6th Schedule of the Indian Constitution.
This was decided during a joint meeting of LAHDC Kargil and Leh under the Chairmanship of Chairman/Chief Executive Councillor LAHDC Kargil Kacho Ahmad Ali Khan to Review and Amend the LAHDC ACT to further strengthen and empower the LAHDC in Kargil and Leh.
During the Meeting Councillor Jamyang Stering Namgyal of BJP Leh presented a Draft Bill in the meeting and told that Empowerment and Amendment of LAHDC Act is required to empower the LAHDC with Legislative, Administrative, Executive and Financial Powers on the pattern of Bodoland Territorial Council.
During the meeting detail discussion was held on each and every point of the draft bill and it was decided unanimously to form a 10 member committee, five members from both the district to which will consist, representatives of both the district giving equal representation to every political party to carry on the future process on the issue.
During the meeting it was also decided to consult the government to constitute Inter District Advisory Council under Section 50 of LAHDC Act 1997 which will help in raising the common issues of the region and other issues.
Kacho Ahmad Ali Khan appreciated the councillors committee from Leh for taking such an initiative to redress the common issues of Ladakh region and told that earlier many such initiatives were initiated by the previous councils including during his earlier tenure so he urged upon the councillors to expedite the work and try to come to a conclusion before the compilation of the tenure of the LAHDCs.
Executive Councillor Aga Syed Arman, Mohammad Hussain and Stanzin Sonam, Advisor to CEC Haji Mohammad Shahfi, Councillors, Sheikh Mohammad Hussain Raisi, Kacho Feroz, Mohammad Ismail, Skalzang Wangyail, and Akhone Hassan from LAHDC Kargil and Councillor Gyal P Wangyal, Tsering Paldan and Jamyang Tsering Namgyal of BJP, Councillor P Wangdan Shunu of N C, Councillor Tsering Nurboo and Murup Dorjey of INC, Independent Councillor Tsering Angchuk and Nominated Councillor Mohammad Nasir of PDP were from LAHDC Leh who participated in the meeting.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor