LS POLLS: BJP announces names of its 5 candidates

The BharatiyaJanata Party released in New Delhi its list of five contestants for the parliamentary elections in Jammu and Kashmir. The party is repeating Jitendra Singh—a sitting MP and minister of state in the prime minister’s office—from the Kathua-Udhampur-Doda seat. Singh had defeated top Congress leader GhulamNabi Azad with a huge margin in the last general elections from this constituency.

The BJP is also repeating its sitting MP JugalKishor Sharma from the Jammu-Poonch seat.

It has given a mandate to MM War from the Baramulla parliamentary constituency while fielding Khalid Jehangir from Srinagar. From the southern Anantnag seat, the party will be fielding its MLC SofiYousuf.

However, the party’s candidate for the lone Ladakh seat is yet to be finalised.

Meanwhile, union minister Jitendra Singh will be filing his nomination papers Friday from the Udhampur constituency. He is likely to be accompanied by railways minister PiyushGoyal, a senior leader said Thursday.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor