Make a formal request to Governor for returning PRA Bill: AJKPC tells govt

All Jammu Kashmir Panchayat Conference (AJKPC) on Wednesday asked the ruling PDP-BJP coalition to make a formal request to the Governor N N Vohra for returning of controversial and flawed ‘The Jammu and Kashmir Panchayati Raj (Amendment) Bill, 2016’ to rectify its blunder of imposing ‘black law’ on the rural people of the state.
The AJKPC, a frontline organisation of elected Sarpanches and Panches fighting for empowerment of Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) in Jammu and Kashmir, also declared that it would launch a state-wide agitation at Panchayat and block levels if the state government do not make a request to the Governor for returning the Bill for reconsideration when it’s sent to him (Governor) for his assent.
“This is not the fight for election of a Sarpanch or Panch in a Panchayat but it is a decisive battle for restoration of democracy which has ruthlessly been hammered and crushed at the grass-roots level. The state government has violated the fundamental rights of the people and made a direct assault on democratic ethos of the state by passing the illogical Bill in both the Houses of State Legislature,” Anil Sharma, state president AJKPC told reporters here this morning.
The AJKPC had called an emergent meeting of Sarpanches from different parts of Jammu region, including Executive Body members of the organisation today to discuss the situation arising out of the amendment to the Jammu and Kashmir Panchayat Raj Act (PRA) 1989. The Amendment in the Act provides for Sarpanches being elected by the Panches instead of elected directly by the people in rural areas. He also declared that a meeting of Sarpanches from Kashmir and Ladakh regions would be held next week to start state-wide agitation against the imposition of ‘black law’ on the people of the state. Sarpanches from Doda, Reasi, Samba, Kathua, Udhampur and other districts of Jammu province attended the meet.
Prominent among those who spoke on the occasion included Bimla Devi, President Women Wing-AJKPC, Raj Kumar, Provinical President (J), S Amnider Singh, Ashwani Sharma, Sanjeev Singh, Bindu Chowdhary, Mohan Singh, Ram Pal Sharma Sarpanch, Samba district Puran Kumar and others.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor