MAM College in semis of inter-college Cricket

Government MAM College today sailed into the semifinals of the ongoing inter-college cricket tournament, organised by the Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu, on the campus grounds, here.
To qualify for the last four stages of the competition, MAM College trounced Government Degree College (GDC) Rajouri by a big margin of 59 runs.
Earlier, batting first, after GDC Rajouri won the toss and opted to field, MAM College made 124 runs for seven wickets in 20 overs a side game. Jagjeet remained top scorer with 27-ball 34 runs while Yogesh (25), Varun (24) and Nipun (24) were other main contributors to the total. From MAM College, Amir, Sajid, Sunil and Aditya shared apiece each.
In reply, GDC Rajouri bowled out for just 65 runs in 16 overs. Iftaiz and Aditya were only batsmen to touch the double figure mark with 15 and 13 runs in their respective accounts. From MAM College, Rakshit emerged as most successful bowler with four wickets for 28 runs in four overs while Nipul took two for 11. Yogesh, Rohit and Syed took one wicket each.
Meanwhile, in another match of the day, SPMR College of Commerce defeated MIET College by 21 runs.
Earlier, MIET won the toss and put Commerce College to bat. Batting first, Commerce College made 150 runs losing all their wickets. Suryansh Raina scored highest 42 runs, followed by Avesh and Subrat, who added 25 and 19 runs respectively. Lakshay bagged three wickets and Shubhang and Nasrullah shared two each.
Later, chasing a target of over seven runs per over, MIET College could not maintain the required run rate despite brilliant 72 (off 49 balls, 10×4) innings from Parjinder and exhausted their quota of 20 overs for 129 runs losing seven wickets. Shubam was only other batsman with 10 runs to score in double figure. From Commerce College, Sahil Bhat took two wickets, followed by Ajay, Sahil Malhotra and Sahil Chowdhary, who shared apiece each.
Today’s matches officiated by the technical penal comprising Raman Kumar, Mohan Lal, Raj Kumar Bakshi, Saleem ur-Rehman and Sadiq Hussain as umpires while Vinod was scorer.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor