MIER organises annual sports meet

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, April 14
MIER College of Education (Autonomous) organized an Annual Sports Meet at its campus. The meet was inaugurated by Dr Adit Gupta, Director MIER Group of Institutions. Students from all the departments of the college took part in events which included Tug of War, Badminton, Volleyball and Kho Kho matches. Dr. Annie Koul, HoD B.Ed, Dr. Rohnika Sharma, HoD B.Ed Spl along with all the faculty and students witnessed the sports meet and cheered the participants.
In his inaugural speech, Dr Adit Gupta encouraged the students to participate whole heartedly in the events. He said that proficiency in co-curricular activities including sports is an integral part of becoming an effective teacher which would develop a whole some personality in the pupil teachers. Dr. Gupta blessed the students and suggested the players to compete with sportsmanship qualities and show zeal and enthusiasm.
Tug of war (Girls) was held between the four teams from B.Ed and M.Ed departments. Team D was the winner and Team B secured the second position. The Boy’s Double Badminton matches were held in which M.Ed team represented by Aamir, Ankush and Deepak was the winner and B.Ed team represented by Liaquat, Sham and Mohinder was the runners up. In the final volleyball match, Team ‘A’ led by Tarunam of B.Ed was declared as the winner. In Girls Double Badminton matches, there were four teams and team D represented by Preeti, Pallavi and Lipi of B.Ed bagged the first place and Team C represented by Sumita, Harjinder and Anupama of B.Ed were the runners up. More than 80 students from different wings of MIER College of Education participated in the events.
The entire show was organized by Dr. Reeta Dwivedi, NSS Program Officer along with Manvi Gupta, Game and Sports Unit Incharge, Usha Chunni, Sports Officer and Physical Training Instructors were actively involved in the conduct of all events. Overall, it was quite an active, enthusiastic and successful event enjoyed thoroughly by the students. The prizes and medals will be given to the winner’s on the Annual Prize Distribution Function to be held in May 2017.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor