Modi, Sonia, others pay tributes to 2001 Parliament attack martyrs

Spread the love

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other parliamentarians on Sunday paid tributes to the martyrs of the 2001 attack on Parliament.

Along with Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, veteran BJP leader L K Advani, minority affairs minister Najma Heptulla, and deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha P J Kurien, were among those who paid floral tributes to the martyrs.

Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma, BJP MP Satyanarain Jatiya were among other members who attended a solemn ceremony held in the premises of Parliament on the occasion of the 14th anniversary of the attack.

The Prime Minister also met some of the martyr’s family members who were present. The Parliamentarians also observed silence in the honour of the martyrs.

On December 13, 2001, five heavily-armed gunmen stormed the Parliament complex and opened indiscriminate fire, killing nine persons.

The martyrs included five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) official, two Parliament watch and ward staff, and a gardener.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Editorjknews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.