Narayanasamy bags Nellithoppe assembly seat

New Delhi, November 22
Congress contender and Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy bagged the Nellithoppe assembly seat in Puducherry by-election defeating AIADMK’s Om Sakthi Segar.
Narayanasamy, who is not a member of the territorial assembly, had emerged as compromise candidate for the Chief Minister’s post after May 16 assembly elections.
This election was crucial for him as his continuance in the Chief Minister’s chair depended on the outcome of the by-poll.
For Om Sakthi Sekar, the two-time MLA from this constituency, the electoral battle was an opportunity to prove his mettle after defeat in the last assembly elections.
Counting of votes took place for four Lok Sabha and eight assembly constituencies, spread across six states and one Union Territory where by-elections were held on Saturday.
In Tamil Nadu, by-polls were held for Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Tiruparakundram assembly seats on November 19. The first round of counting for the Thanjavur assembly seat ended at around 9.30 am and AIADMK was leading with 5,993 votes, DMK at 3,974 votes. The Lok Sabha seats were by-polls where held are Lakhimpur in Assam, Shahdol in Madhya Pradesh and Coochbehar and Tamluk Parliamentary seats in West Bengal. The Assembly seats are in Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Tripura and the Union Territory of Puducherry.
In Tripura, the counting of votes for by-poll in Barjala and Khowai assembly constituencies began at 8 am amidst tight security. The CPI (M) won both assembly seats in the state.
In Assam, the counting of votes for Lakhimpur Lok Sabha and Baithalangso assembly by polls is being held amid tight security. Over 66 percent polling was reported at Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat while over 74 percent voters exercised their voting rights at Baithalangso assembly seat.
Five candidates are in the fray for the Lakhimpur seat while political fate of three candidates will be decided at Baithalangso assembly seat. Both the seats are likely to witness straight contest between the NDA and the Congress. The outcome of the by-polls will be the first test for the Sarbanand Sonowal-led BJP government as well as newly appointed state Congress president
Ripun Bora.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor