NC OBC Cell stages dharna outside JMC

OBC Cell of Jammu and Kashmir National Conference on Friday staged a huge protest outside Jammu Municipal Commissioner and Health Officer has forced the residents to take to streets in scorching summer heat”, the Co Chairman of the Cell Abdul Gani Teli said while leading the protests. He said repeated pleas with regard to dilapidated drainage system, heaps of garbage and other civic deficiencies has caused enormous Corporation headquarters at Town Hall here to draw the attention towards highly erratic drainage system and lack of health and hygiene in Preet Nagar area of Sanjay Nagar. “The apathetical attitude of the Corporation, especially the most irresponsible handling of municipal affairs by the Commissioner, Joint hardships to the residents, especially in the wake of stray animal littering the unattended garbage in the entire area. “The insensitivity of the Corporation, due to lack of political direction from the PDP-BJP coalition has put the entire system haywire”, he said, adding that situation becomes precarious during evening hours due to faulty street lights as the area remains plunged in the darkness.
Teli said that it appears that the administration has gone on a long leave after Durbar Move, as the implementing agencies of the government are ignoring their responsibilities towards the people. “It is astonishing that despite people raising these issues peacefully for the past few weeks and meeting concerned authorities, nobody is coming to their rescue”, he said adding that the chosen representative of the area has for abdicated his
The protesters urged the municipal administration to attend to their problems urgently and take all necessary measures in ensuring proper drainage and cleanliness in the area. Prominent among those who participated in the demonstrations included Shahid Mohd (Pinka), Gurcharan Singh, Sneh Lata, Satya Devi, Neelam Kumari, Komal Manhas Reena Kumari, Shashi Kumar, Pardeep Singh, Rajni Gupta, Raj Kumar and others.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor