New 4 police stations come-up

To ensure that women affected by violence have an enabling Police system empathetic towards their grievances, Cabinet under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti accorded sanction to the creation of four Women Police Stations, one each in district Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri and Udhampur.

Cabinet also sanctioned creation of 208 posts for these four Women Police Stations i.e. 52 posts for each Women Police Station. The 208 posts include four posts of Inspector, four posts of Sub-Inspector, 8 posts of Assistant Sub-Inspector, 24 posts of Head Constable, 136 posts of Constable and 32 posts of Follower.

The creation of these Women Police Stations shall enable women to report offenses and bring visibility of women at the level of public interface especially in situations where aggrieved women intend to seek redress in an empathetic environment with an institutional support. It shall also be a step towards achieving gender equality.

Presently, two Women Police Stations are functional one each at Srinagar and Jammu exclusively run by women police officers/staff. Besides four Women Cells are functioning, one each at district Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri and Udhampur on internal arrangement basis.


Recommended For You

About the Author: editor