NSF reconstituted; Vikas elected president

Feb 26: The National Secular Forum (NSF) today reconstituted its State body and unanimously elected Dr Vikas Sharma as its president, during a one-day convention.
Sukhdev Singh was appointed as working president and Surjit Choudhary as senior vice-president while Narinder Singh Advocate, MS Qureshi and Parvinder Singh were announced as vice-presidents.
President-SKUAST-TAJ, Dr Vikas Sharma was appointed as general secretary with additional charge of spokesperson. Barkat Ali, Surjit Singh (Sidhu), Varun Dogra and Amit Sanotra were nominated as secretaries and Nitin Chandel as publicity secretary. Vishaw Vikas was appointed as press secretary while Qayoom Malik, J V Singh, Neeraj Kumar, Ravi Choudhary, Randeep Singh Chib, Vikram Madyal and Gunjan Sharma were taken as executive members of the Forum. Advocate Pawan Bandhral was declared as Legal Cell convener.
Addressing the convention, after his election, Vikas Sharma exhorted upon the youth to fight for the cause of justice and overall welfare of the student community as well as burning issues of the youth. He said NSF will leave no stone unturned in fight for the rights of the youth and students community. Forum will prove out to be a front runner in fight against corruption and injustice in the State and will expose the corrupt, he added.
Later, the newly constituted body of the NSF passed resolutions regarding its future course of action which reads that Forum will work for the welfare and overall progress of student/teaching community; fight against corruption/corrupt officers in the State and to expose them; to strengthen the democratic setup and to promote secularism in Jammu and Kashmir; and fight against injustice against students in the colleges and universities.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor