Pune, Rajkot are two new IPL teams for 2016 season

Pune and Rajkot are the latest teams to have been added to the IPL mix. The two cities are the newest addition to have their own teams for the controversial cricket series.
While the mandate for Rajkot has gone to Intex Technologies, the Pune team will be owned by Sanjiv Goenka’s New Rising.
These two teams will replace the oustedChennai Super Kings and Jaipur’s Rajasthan Royals. Both the teams were suspended after a panel appointed by the Supreme Court, found that the owners of both the teams — Gurunath Meiyappan (Chennai) and Raj Kundra (Rajasthan) — had indulged in betting and sharing crucial team information with bookies in the 2013 season.
While nearly 20 companies had initially shown interest in the bidding process, only five submitted their bids on Tuesday.
Both the teams will get a chance to choose from the top five players each from the two ousted teams — Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals.
Gujarat has been in the waiting for an IPL team for some time now. Every season there have been rumours of a team coming up, either an Ahmedabad, Surat or a Rajkot team. The rumours have finally been laid to rest with Tuesday’s announcement.
On the flipside, Pune had a team — Pune Warriors — owned by Sahara’s Subroto Roy, but the team was deferred after the company and its owner Roy was pulled up in a fraud and money laundering case.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.