Punjab wrestler Sabha lifts Jhiri Kesari title

Delhi wrestler Parveen Rana adjudged best wrestler

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, April 24
Pahelwan Sabha of Kohali in Amritsar Punjab bagged the 2nd Jhiri Kesari dangal title defeating Hitesh of Bahadurgarh in Haryana in a tough main bout played at Jhiri, near here. Dangal was organized by J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in association with Jhiri Dangal Committee. Former Minister and MLA, Sukhnandan Choudhary was chief guest, who distributed cash prizes among the winners and runners-up wrestlers. Joint Secretary, J&K State Sports Council, Shiv Kumar Sharma who is also president of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, presided over the function. District Development Commissioner (DDC) Reasi, Ravinder Kumar, Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), Benam Tosh and retired police officer, Prithvi Raj Sharma were guests of honour. Other prominent individuals present were on the occasion Advocate Sanjit Bavouria, Prem Choudhary, Inderjeet Khajuria, SHO Rajesh Sharma, Sunil Badyal, Virender Sharma and Rajesh Vaid. Winner of the main bout, Sabha was awarded with cash prize of Rs 90,000 while runners-up Hitesh awarded with Rs 60,000. In all, 37 bouts played in the one day long dangal. The second main bout won by Gurpal of Jallandhar, who defeated Benia Min of J&K Police. Winner Gurpal was awarded Rs 60,000 while Benia got Rs Rs 40,000. Rubaljeet of Khanna defeated Pravesh of Bahadurgarh (Haryana) to secure Rs 60,000 prize while fourth bout clinched by Tej Vir of Rohtak (Haryana) who defeated Virju of Delhi. In fifth bout Bupinder of Ajnala defeated Parveen Rana of Delhi and Manna of Chandigarh outplayed Ishaq (Lallu) of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu in six bout. Sunil of Choti Wale of Haryana defeated Gurpes of Amritsar in seventh bout while eighth bout won by Kapil of Delhi beating Anup of Rohtak. In ninth bout Perminder of Bahadurgarh Haryana defeated Nisar of Doda while 10th bout won by Deepak of Haryana beating Farooq of Sarore in Jammu. A cash prize of Rs 5,100 was given to Parveen Rana of Delhi (Olympian Wrestler) who was declared best Wrestler of the dangal by the organizer. Rajinder Kumar of Jammu defeated woman wrestler Neha Tomar of Dehradun (UttaraKhand). This was the only challenge bout played first time in J&K. Seven more women bouts were played in women section. Other Results: Chain Singh of Reasi defeated of Amit of Rohtak, Gurmail of BSF Chandigarh defeated Talab of Mallerkotla, Sandeep of Rohtak defeated Roshan Lal Sharma of J&K Police, Ajay Kumar Sharma of Udhampur defeated Dinesh of Zirakpur, Chandigarh, Sonu of Zirakpur, Chandigarh defeated Bobari of Sarore, Billi of Kohali defeated Munir Khan of Nagrota, Sachin of Delhi defeated Akram of Chouadi. Technical officials who helped for conduct of this dangal were Sohan Singh, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Gurmeet, Kulwinder, Mulkh Raj Sharma, Om Parkash Verma, Sat Paul Verma, Sanjeev Sharma, Nisha Devi, Prem Kumar, Tulinder Kumar and Murli Dhar (Munna).

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor