SP-BSP alliance will stall progress: Yogi Adityanath

Newspoint Bureau

New Delhi, March 14

Accepting BJP’s defeat in Phulpur and Gorakhpur Lok Sabha bypolls, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Wednesday said that the shortcoming will be reviewed.

“We accept the verdict of the people, this result is unexpected, and we will review the shortcomings. I congratulate the winning candidates,” said Adityanath. The chief minister agreed that the last minute alliance of the Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party worked against his party in the bypolls.

“When the candidates were declared, the SP, BSP and Congress were not together…they had not joined hands then. But suddenly in the middle of the election, the SP and the BSP forged an electoral understanding,” he told the media from his residence. “The over-confidence and inability to understand the electoral understanding between the SP and the BSP led to the defeat,” Adityanath stressed.

Yeh BSP-SP ka jo rajnitik saudebaazi, desh ke vikas ko baadhit karne ke liye bani hai, iske baare mein hum apni rann neeti tayaar karenge (The SP-BSP alliance has been made to stall the development in the country. We will develop our political action with respect to this),” he added.

Refusing to accept the result as mandate against Modi government at Centre, Adityanath asserted that the bypolls are contested on local issues and that turn-out was low. “When the general elections are held, there will be national issues. Under the leadership of PM Narendra Modi, there has been a sense of confidence which is prevailing in the country…but all these will be reviewed.”

Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel defeated BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel by 59,460 votes in Phulpur. In Gorakhpur which is CM Yogi Adityanath’s bastion, Praveen Nishad of SP was declared a winner by 21,000 votes, while BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla trailed behind. The bypolls were necessitated after UP CM Adityanath and Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats respectively following their election to the state legislative council.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor