Yuvraj Singh in T20 team, Suresh Raina out of ODI squad

New Delhi: Four years after making an inglorious exit, Yuvraj Singh on Saturday returned to the national fold after being named in the Twenty20 squad for the tour of Australia. However, it was a setback for Suresh Raina as he was dropped from the ODI team getting replaced by Karnataka batsman Manish Pandey.

In a surprise inclusion, left-arm medium-pacer Ashish Nehra was also named in the T20 squad. Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammad Shami, who has now recovered from his injury, were recalled in the ODI and Twenty20 squads.

Punjab’s young left-arm seamer Brainder Singh Sran (ODIs) and Baroda all-rounder Hardik Pandya (T20s) were the new faces. Rishi Dhawan and Manish Pandey were also included in the squads announced by BCCI Secretary Anurag Thakur after a meeting of the selection committee here.

There were a number of players like Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ambati Rayudu, Mohit Sharma, Amit Mishra and Harbhajan Singh, who were omitted from the ODI squad. Off-spinner Harbhajan, however, kept his place in the T20 squad.

The squad, to be captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, has expectedly been packed with seamers.

T20 Team: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Harbhajan Singh, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

ODI Team: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rishi Dhawan, Brainder Singh Sran.

Recommended For You

About the Author: editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.