Navratri 2024 Day 6: Maa Katyayani Puja Vidhi, Significance

The festival of Navratri began on April 9, this year and the tradition is to worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga on the nine days of this festival. On the sixth day of ths festival, i.e., April 14, 2024, people worship the Katyayani form of Goddess Durga. Scroll down to learn about the puja vidhi, mantras to chant and what colour to wear on this day.


Who Is Maa Katyayani?

Also known as Mahishasurmardini, Maa Katyayani is believed to be a powerful incarnation of the goddess Durga. The goddess is depicted riding a lion, holding a sword and a lotus in the left hands and holding the Abhaya and Varada mudras in the right hands, she emerged victorious over the demon king Mahishasura, according to the legend.

Puja Vidhi for Maa Katyayani Puja

First, the devotees should take a bath early in the morning, offer incense sticks and flowers to Goddess, and then light a ghee lamp in front of the goddess’ idol or picture. After that, recite the mantras of the goddess and offer her prayers. Also, perform Aarti of the goddess and offer her honey as Bhog.

Chaitra Navratri Day Which Colour To Wear

The colour of the sixth day of Navratri is green and you are advised to wear something green on this day to delve into the devotional feelings of the day. The green colour is believed to symbolise peace, fertility and nature. If you wear green on this day, it symbolises Goddess Katyayani’s bravery, protection and well-being.

Goddess Katyayani Mantras

Mata Katyayani Stuti- Ya Devi Sarvabhuteshu Maa Katyayani Rupena Samstitha, Namastasyai Namastasyai Namastasyai Namo Namah.

Mata Katyayani Mantra – Om Devi Katyayani Namah.

Navaratri[a] is an annual Hindu festival observed in honor of the goddess Durga, an aspect of Adi Parashakti, the supreme goddess. It spans over nine nights (and ten days), first in the month of Chaitra (March/April of the Gregorian calendar), and again in the month of Ashvin (September–October). It is observed for different reasons and celebrated differently in various parts of the Hindu Indian cultural sphere. Theoretically, there are four seasonal Navaratri. However, in practice, it is the post-monsoon autumn festival called Sharada Navaratri. There are 2 Gupta Navaratris or “Secret Navaratris” as well, one starting on the Shukla paksha Pratipada of the Magha Month (Magha Gupta navaratri) and another starting in the Shukla Paksha Pratipada of Jyestha Month