J&K places 108 officers at disposal of Ladakh

Government of Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir has placed the services of 108 officers of different ranks at the disposal of Union Territory of Ladakh on deputation basis with immediate effect.

An order in this regard has been issued by the General Administration Department to help the Union Territory of Ladakh in running its affairs smoothly.

Of these 108 officers/officials, 9 belong to General Administration Department, six of Floriculture, Parks and Gardens Department, two of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Department, five of Jal Shakti Department, 14 of Planning Department, nine of Excise and Taxation, seven of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Department, four of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, one of Industries and Commerce Department, three of Housing and Urban Development, three of Power Development Department and 24 of Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs Department etc.

The deputation of these officers/officials will be for a period of two years or till final allocation is made in terms of Section 89(2) of the J&K Reorganization Act whichever is earlier.

“The lien and promotion aspects of the officers shall remain with their respective parent departments during the period of deputation”, the order said, adding “they shall be entitled to avail incentives as may be made available in due course of time”.

It is pertinent to mention here that few days back Advisor to Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh Union Territory had written to the Chief Secretary of J&K UT seeking deputation of officers so that public services delivery may not suffer further in the Ladakh UT because of manpower constraints.